Feb 24, 2012
Interior Plantscape Conference to Meet in April

Katy Moss Warner of the American Horticultural Society, Dr. Terril Nell of the University of Florida and Gary Hennen of Oglesby Plants International receive honors

Each year, the Florida Nursery, Growers and Landscape Association (FNGLA) honors a distinct group of individuals who contribute time and energy into enhancing, protecting and serving Florida’s nursery and landscape industry through the FNGLA Industry Awards Program. This year’s winners were honored during FNGLA’s 60th annual convention in Jacksonville on June 30.

FNGLA’s Industry Awards Program acknowledges both FNGLA and industry service – with varying criteria geared for each award. Nominations are accepted from the industry-at-large and winners are selected by a committee of industry peers.

The Wendell Butler Award and the FNGLA Hall of Fame are recognized as the most prestigious awards given by FNGLA. The Wendell Butler Award is presented for service to FNGLA and the FNGLA Hall of Fame Award is a lifetime achievement award. Nominations are accepted from the industry at large.

Visit FNGLA’s Industry Awards website for informational videos and photos of the 2012 award winners. Click winner images to access the industry award presentation which includes recipient details.

FNGLA Hall of Fame
A lifetime achievement award given to an individual who has given unselfishly of his or her time and effort having contributed to the industry through pioneering, teaching, production, legislation, marketing, services or research.


Katy Moss Warner, Orlando
American Horticulture Society

Dr. Terril Nell, Brevard, N.C.
University of Florida

Wendell E. Butler Award
Recognized as FNGLA’s most prestigious award, this award recognizes an individual who serves FNGLA and the industry by providing leadership, service, and contributions and has shown a sincere interest in the advancement of the association and the industry.


Gary Hennen, Altha
Oglesby Plants International

Farm Credit / FNGLA Young Nursery Professional

Presented to an FNGLA member who is under 39 and has made an outstanding contribution to the industry. This award is sponsored annually by Farm Credit Associations of Florida.


T. Jay Higgins, Sarasota
Sun-Fire Nurseries

FNGLA Outstanding Volunteer
Presented to an individual who has contributed faithfully to the advancement of the industry through association activities or related service.


Ed Bravo, Newberry
Big Trees Plantation

FNGLA Outstanding Educator
Presented to an individual who is actively involved with the teaching of horticulture.


John R. King, Jr., Lakeland
Peterson Nursery & Garden Center

FNGLA Friend of the Industry
Presented to an individual from outside the association who has contributed to the advancement or improvement of the nursery and landscape industry.


Dr. Hannah Carter, Gainesville
UF/IFAS Wedgworth Leadership Institute

FNGLA Legislator of the Year Award
Presented to policy makers whose legislative priorities and work ethic align with and benefit Florida’s nursery and landscape industry.

State Senator Rene Garcia (R-Miami)
Senator Rene Garcia has spent his legislative career fighting for small business. Among his many legislative efforts, Senator Garcia continues to fight for the protection of the Florida Department of Transportation’s mandatory landscape program, which requires 1.5% of new construction project dollars to be spent on trees and shrubs.

State Representative Jimmy T. Smith (R-Lecanto)
A true defender of small business, Representative Jimmie smith personifies the pro business, agriculture friendly ideals which Benefit FNGLA members statewide. Representative Smith continues to be a fighter for common sense, and during the past two legislative sessions has championed bills which would apply science and practical application to the regulation of fertilizers.

For more information about FNGLA’s Industry Awards, please contact FNGLA at 800.375.3642, or visit the FNGLA website.

Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.

75 Applewood Drive, Suite A
P.O. Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345

Get one year of Greenhouse Product News in both print and digital editions for free.
Preview our digital edition »

Interested in reading the print edition of GPN?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.
website development by deyo designs