Oct 27, 2006
SAF Presents AwardsSource: SAF

The Society of American Florists (SAF) recently presented many different awards and honors during SAF Naples 2006, SAF’s 122nd Annual Convention in Naples, Fla.

John H. Walker Award

Augusto Solano, president and chief executive officer of the Colombian Association of Flower Exporters (Asocolflores) in Bogotá, Colombia, received the 2006 John H. Walker Award. Named in honor of SAF’s former long-time executive vice president, the John H. Walker Award recognizes floral association executives for the role they play as leaders of the industry.

Tommy Bright Award For Achievement in Floral Presentation

Kirk Pamper, AAF, AIFD, PFCI, was honored for lifetime achievement in floral presentation when SAF’s Professional Floral Communicators – International (PFCI) presented him with the 2006 Tommy Bright Award. Pamper is an internationally recognized floral designer, commentator, educator, writer and consultant.

First presented in 1967 and awarded to PFCI members of distinction, the Tommy Bright Award is PFCI’s most prestigious designation. It is named after Ethel “Tommy” Bright whose motto “Learn More, Teach Others” embraces PFCI’s objectives.

Floriculture Hall of Fame Award

Jules “Toots” Armellini, AAF, founder of Armellini Industries in Miami, Fla., was inducted into the Society of American Florists’ Floriculture Hall of Fame. The industry’s highest honor, the Floriculture Hall of Fame is bestowed upon people of high integrity who have made outstanding and lasting contributions to the advancement of floriculture as an integral part of the American way of life.

SAF Honors 100-Year-Old Companies

SAF presented the 2006 Century Award to Mt. Eden Floral Co., Mountain View, Calif., and White Lake Greenhouses, Whitehall, Mich. First presented in 1982, the Century Award honors companies that have served the floral industry for 100 years or more.

Gold Medal Award

Peter Ullrich, chairman of Esmeralda Farms in Miami, Fla., received the 2006 SAF Gold Medal Award. The award is presented to a company or an individual in recognition of a product that has had a lasting impact on the commercial floriculture industry. Ullrich was selected as the 2006 recipient for his work introducing new hypericum varieties to the U.S. market.

For more information, visit www.safnow.org/about/awards.cfm or contact SAF’s Debi Aker at [email protected] or (800) 336-4743.

(Visited 6 times, 1 visits today)

Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.

75 Applewood Drive, Suite A
P.O. Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345

Get one year of Greenhouse Product News in both print and digital editions for free.
Preview our digital edition »

Interested in reading the print edition of GPN?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.
website development by deyo designs