20 AFE Scholarship Recipients

Jul 21, 2022
20 Students Earn American Floral Endowment Scholarships

The American Floral Endowment (AFE) has awarded 20 students with scholarships totaling $54,400. In this 2022 scholarship cycle, which introduced a new online application platform, 65 applications were received from over 40 colleges and universities, and 47 industry members reviewed and scored the applications.

The recipients include:

  • Landon Erbrick, Auburn University: Julio and Sarah Armellini Scholarship – $2,700 and Suntory Flowers Scholarship – $2,000 (awarded at GPN’s 40 Under 40 Reception at Cultivate’22)
  • Nathan James, Colorado State University: Ball Horticultural Co. Scholarship – $1,300 and Dewar Family Scholarship – $2,200
  • Madilyn Hoock, Southern Illinois University: Harold Bettinger Scholarship – $2,500
  • Elizabeth Hudgens, Clemson University: BioWorks IPM/Sustainable Practices Scholarship – $2,000
  • Samera Roe, Oklahoma State University: James Bridenbaugh Memorial Scholarship – $500
  • Manjot Sidhu, Michigan State University: John Carew Memorial Scholarship – $2,400
  • Jessica Esplin, Bastyr University: Carlson-Johnson Scholarship for Nontraditional Students – $1,500
  • Zachary Rosenkrans, Kansas State University: Earl Dedman Memorial Scholarship – $2,400 and Ferriss Horticulture Scholarship – $2,400
  • Abigail Dame, Brigham Young University Idaho: Garcia Family Scholarship – $1,800
  • Marina Millan, SUNY Farmingdale: Long Island Flower Growers Association (LIFGA) Scholarship – $1,700
  • Dante Spielmann, SUNY Cobleskill: Long Island Flower Growers Association – Bob Gunther Scholarship – $1,400
  • Brandan Shur, North Carolina State University: Richard T. Meister Scholarship – $4,900
  • Parker Dearing, North Carolina State University: National Greenhouse Manufacturers Association (NGMA) Scholarship – $700
  • Jessica McCool, Colorado State University: Mike and Flo Novovesky Scholarship – $3,400
  • Tiana Clevenger, University of Idaho: James K. Rathmell, Jr. Memorial Scholarship for Horticultural Work/Study Abroad – $4,600
  • Shara Ortiz Carvajal, Clemson University: Seed Companies Scholarship – $2,900
  • Sophie Soto, Bergen Community College: John L. Tomasovic, Sr. Scholarship – $1,700
  • Seth Benjamin, Michigan State University: Edward Tuinier Memorial Scholarship – $5,800
  • Ethan Jenkins, North Carolina State University: Jacob and Rita Van Namen Marketing Scholarship – $1,800
  • Jeff Tiller, Piedmont Tech College: Vocational (Bettinger, Holden & Perry) Scholarship – $1,800

For more information on all 20 scholarship recipients from the American Floral Endowment website. 

Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.
Erica Hernandez
Emma Lookabaugh
Melissa Maguire
Cole Mangum
Oz Marshall
Meagan Nace
Tiffany Nohl
Chris Plane
Mike Prol