Sep 28, 2018
Hall Receives SAF’s Paul Ecke, Jr. Award

Charlie Hall, professor and Ellison Chair in the Department of Horticultural Sciences at Texas A&M University, was the recipient of the 2018 SAF Paul Ecke, Jr. Award at the the Society of American Florists’ 134th annual convention in Rancho Mirage, California.

Established in 1984, SAF’s Paul Ecke, Jr. Award is given to a person in recognition of exemplary devotion to profession, industry and community.

During the a special ceremony, Terril Nell, former SAF chairman, praised Hall as a “highly productive and successful academic who has excelled in research, teaching and extension … [who] has freely shared his time and knowledge with the industry.”

Hall said he felt “blessed and honored” to receive the Ecke award and be recognized with previous winners who have “tirelessly and unselfishly given of their time, talent and service” to the industry.

For more information on the award, please visit

Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.
Ben Vliestra
Sidney Phelps
Jennifer Moss
Daniel Norden
W. Garrett Owen
Jessica Montgomery
Elien Peters
Rose Oberholzer
Nikki Melin

May 2020 GPN
Get one year of Greenhouse Product News in both print and digital editions for free.

Interested in reading the print edition of GPN?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.
website development by deyo designs