Nov 22, 2017
KSU Hort Professor Wins USDA National Teaching Award

Chad T. Miller, associate professor of horticulture at Kansas State University, was among nine educators recently honored by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) at the 130th APLU Annual Meeting in Washington, DC.

Miller was recognized as one of two recipients of the 2017 U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Best New Teacher Award for Food and Agricultural Sciences. The New Teacher Award recognizes a faculty, with no more than seven consecutive years of experience in higher education teaching, who has demonstrated a commitment to a career in teaching, has exhibited meritorious teaching through scholarship of teaching and learning, and exemplary service to students.

The award also includes a $2,000 stipend for the purpose of strengthening the honoree’s teaching and advising program. “

Teaching is at the very core of public universities’ mission,” said Ian Maw, Vice president of Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources at APLU. “By sparking their students’ curiosity and shaping their students’ career aspirations, educators help cultivate the next generation leaders in agricultural sciences. This year’s winners of the Excellence in College and University Teaching Awards for Food and Agricultural Sciences stand out for their tireless and innovative work to help students find success and enjoyment in their studies.”

Miller teaches several undergraduate horticulture courses, in the KSU horticulture program, including an orientation course, plant propagation, and two plant identification courses. In addition, Miller assists with developing and leading departmental international study abroad course experiences. He advises an average of 25 undergraduate students each year and is also the co-advisor for the Horticulture Club.

Miller has been recognized for his teaching and advising receiving the Perennial Plant Association Academic Award; North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture Educator Award; K-State College of Agriculture Advisor of the Year; K-State College of Agriculture Teaching Faculty of the Semester; the Gamma Sigma Delta Teaching Award; KState College of Agriculture Innovative Teaching and Learning Award; Association of Public Land Grant Universities Innovative Teaching Award; Big 12 Faculty Fellow and was a recipient of the Greenhouse Product News Top 40 under 40 award.


Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.
Ben Vliestra
Sidney Phelps
Jennifer Moss
Daniel Norden
W. Garrett Owen
Jessica Montgomery
Elien Peters
Rose Oberholzer
Nikki Melin

May 2020 GPN
Get one year of Greenhouse Product News in both print and digital editions for free.

Interested in reading the print edition of GPN?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.
website development by deyo designs