Mar 14, 2023
Lara Ramaekers to lead Biobest’s biopesticides team

Lara joins Biobest from UPL, the Mumbai-based provider of sustainable agricultural technologies and services, where she was the global biocontrol portfolio lead. Prior to that she worked for Arysta LifeSciences, a provider of crop protection and life science products, acquired by UPL in 2019.

Derived from plants, bacteria and other microbes, biopesticides are a major growth sector for sustainable horticulture and a key component of residue-free crop production. With considerable experience in early biopesticide product development and the management of strategic marketing alliances and distribution, Lara will set Biobest’s long term global biopesticides strategy.

“While continuing our programme of acquisitions we will be looking to build strategic partnerships with key companies in our industry as well as with pioneering R&D companies at the forefront of new biopesticide technologies and innovations,” she says.

“A well-established leader and innovator in the field of global IPM and crop pollination, Biobest Group has set its sights on becoming a market leader in biopesticides for the greenhouse sector. With highly skilled IPM technical teams already working closely with growers of protected vegetables, fruits, ornamental and medicinal cannabis crops worldwide, Biobest Group has the right set up to achieve this goal.”

“I was attracted to work for Biobest Group because of its closeness to growers. The team is genuinely passionate about contributing to sustainable agriculture and works directly with growers – fostering strong working relationships with end users. Biobest really understands the needs of its customers.”

Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.
Erica Hernandez
Emma Lookabaugh
Melissa Maguire
Cole Mangum
Oz Marshall
Meagan Nace
Tiffany Nohl
Chris Plane
Mike Prol