Jun 8, 2007
NCSU Names New Reynolds ProfessorsSource: North Carolina State University

An entomologist, a plant pathologist, an economist and a sociologist are the newest William Neal Reynolds professors in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at North Carolina State University (NCSU). The William Neal Reynolds Professorship is one of the highest distinctions available to NCSU faculty members.

The Reynolds Professorships were established in 1950 by William Neal Reynolds, a long-time president and board chairman of the R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company, to recognize and support outstanding faculty achievement in research, teaching and extension.

Since then, NCSU and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences have awarded 72 professorships, including this year’s four: Rick Brandenburg, professor of entomology; Margaret Daub, professor and head, department of biology; Walter Thurman, professor of agricultural and resource economics; and Michael Schulman, professor of sociology and anthropology.

Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.