Oct 19, 2018
Shinoda Foundation Awards Horticulture Scholarships

The Shinoda Foundation has awarded 12 scholarships to horticulture students across the United States.

“The Shinoda Foundation was created to help secure the future not only of horticulture, but of aspiring young growers, researchers, breeders, retailers and more,” says Bob Otsuka, president. “Fortunately, awarding these scholarships continues to be challenging, as we review academics, goals, extracurriculars, experience and need in a talented pool of applicants.”

The 2018-19 Shinoda Foundation Scholarship winners include:

  • Ruqayah Bhuiyan, Junior, University of Georgia, $2,000
  • Ryan Murphy, Senior, Clemson University, $2,000
  • Gage Willey, Senior, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, $2,000
  • Jacob Mattlin, Senior, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, $1,500
  • Karen Schneck, Senior, Kansas State University, $1,000
  • Emily Currens, Senior, University of Georgia, $1,000
  • Olivia Fiala, Senior, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, $1,000
  • Sarah Houtsma, Senior, University of Georgia, $1,000
  • Joanna Lambert, Senior, Louisiana State University, $1,000
  • Connor Evers, Sophomore, Iowa State University, $500
  • Jessica Petree, Senior, University of Missouri, $500
  • Sean Tarr, Senior, Michigan State University, $500

In addition, the Foundation awarded a $1,000 California Floral Council Scholarship to Cal Poly University Senior Jacob Mattlin. The award is available only to applicants residing in California.

Since 1965, The Shinoda Foundation has awarded more than $867,000 in scholarships to 697 students. Along with the individual awards, the Foundation also awards a grant to each student’s college or university.

Information about making contributions to the foundation or about the scholarship program  are available at www.shinodascholarship.org

Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.
Ben Vliestra
Sidney Phelps
Jennifer Moss
Daniel Norden
W. Garrett Owen
Jessica Montgomery
Elien Peters
Rose Oberholzer
Nikki Melin

July 2020 GPN
Get one year of Greenhouse Product News in both print and digital editions for free.

Interested in reading the print edition of GPN?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.
website development by deyo designs