Nov 7, 2018
Shinoda Scholar of the Year Named

The Shinoda Foundation has announced that Kansas State University’s Megan Haresnape is the 2018-19 Shinoda Scholar of the Year – the Foundation’s highest award.

Megan Haresnape

“Megan’s drive and discipline stood out as exceptional among the talented aspiring horticulturists we reviewed,” says Bob Otsuka, president of the Shinoda Foundation. “As the first generation of her family to attend college, she also is a great example of how horticulture’s next generation is working to grow our industry.”

Megan is a senior from Lebanon, Kansas, majoring in horticulture with a minor in agribusiness. She is working toward a bachelor of science degree with a concentration in greenhouse production.

Megan works in the greenhouses at Kansas State University, is secretary for the Horticulture Club and serves as a Kansas State University First Scholars Program Mentor.

She has received several scholarships including the Shinoda Scholarship last year, Perennial Plant Association Scholarship, American Floral Endowment Scholarship and the National Garden Clubs Scholarship.

The Shinoda Foundation Board of Trustees awarded eleven scholarships this year totaling $20,000 and provided grants to the winners’ colleges and universities. Since 1965, The Shinoda Foundation has awarded more than $867,000 in scholarships to 697 students.

Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.
Ben Vliestra
Sidney Phelps
Jennifer Moss
Daniel Norden
W. Garrett Owen
Jessica Montgomery
Elien Peters
Rose Oberholzer
Nikki Melin

July 2020 GPN
Get one year of Greenhouse Product News in both print and digital editions for free.

Interested in reading the print edition of GPN?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.
website development by deyo designs