Aug 7, 2019
PPA Hands Out Awards at Annual Symposium

During the Perennial Plant Association’s (PPA) 2019 National Symposium, eight distinguished perennial professionals were recognized for their contributions and significant influences to the Perennial Plant Association and the herbaceous perennial plant industry.

Seven special recognition awards were announced on July 30, 2019 during the awards reception at the 2019 National Symposium in Rosemont, Illinois.

Anna Ball was presented with the highest award of the Perennial Plant Association as the recipient of the Award of Merit, following dinner and an evening in the gardens at Ball Horticultural on Thursday Aug. 1.

The Academic Award is given each year to recognize a PPA member who provides exceptional leadership in education to our industry. This year’s award recipient is Jared Barnes from Stephen F. Austin State University.

The Garden Media Promoter award distinguishes a nominee representing media such as radio, television, newspaper, book publishing, magazine, photography, etc., whose educational and promotional efforts result in heightened public awareness of the work done by the perennial plant industry. This year’s award recipient is Leslie Halleck with Halleck Horticultural, LLC.

The Retail Sales Award is presented to a PPA member in recognition of being a commercial representative instrumental in making an operation progressive and successful in outstanding sales and service. The 2019 award recipient is Chalet Nursery in Willmette, Illinois.

The Young Professional Award may be given to a PPA member to recognize and honor, and to encourage participation, achievement and growth of, an individual in the industry who is a talented and diligent newcomer. Katharina Kreß Wallace is the recipient of the 2019 Young Professional Award.

The Grower Award is presented to a PPA member in recognition of being a grower who holds high standards of production, maintains high quality plants, and seeks innovation while respecting the requirements of the perennial industry. This year’s award recipient is Midwest Groundcovers in St. Charles, Illinois.

The International Contributor Award may be given to a candidate who conducts business and resides in a country other than the United States and Canada. The award recognizes a person who has made outstanding contributions to the herbaceous perennial industry in the international arena. The 2019 International Contributor Award winner is Nigel Dunnett of The University of Sheffield.

The Service Award acknowledges a PPA member for outstanding service to the Perennial Plant Association. The award goes to a member who has contributed considerable time and effort by serving on committees, diligently attending meetings, motivating the membership to act on concerns within our industry, and demonstrating leadership and organizational skills. This years’ service award winner is David Sanford of Penn State University.


Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.
Ben Vliestra
Sidney Phelps
Jennifer Moss
Daniel Norden
W. Garrett Owen
Jessica Montgomery
Elien Peters
Rose Oberholzer
Nikki Melin

July 2020 GPN
Get one year of Greenhouse Product News in both print and digital editions for free.

Interested in reading the print edition of GPN?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.
website development by deyo designs