Aug 19, 2020
SAF to Induct Four Honorees into AAF

The Society of American Florists will honor four professionals with induction into the American Academy of Floriculture (AAF) during SAF’s Annual Convention in 2021.

SAF has made the decision to cancel SAF Phoenix 2020, where recipients would have been inducted, in keeping with government regulations regarding travel and crowd size.

Since there will not be an Annual Convention in 2020, newly selected members of the Academy will be inducted at the Stars of the Industry Awards Dinner during SAF’s Annual Convention in 2021 alongside all 2021 inductees. Current recipients are able to begin using their designation immediately.

The 2020 AAF inductees are:

  • Debi Chedester of American Floral Endowment, Alexandria, Virginia;
  • James DelPrince, AIFD, PFCI, of MSU Coastal Research and Extension Center, Biloxi, Mississippi;
  • Charles Ingrum of Dr Delphinium Designs, Dallas, Texas; and
  • Jennifer Thomasson, AIFD, PFCI, EMC, of Jenny T Floristry, Florissant, Missouri.

AAF members have earned the prestigious rank by committing their time and energy to both the floral industry and their local communities. AAF members are vetted for volunteering and leadership service to the industry and their communities, and each application must be submitted with several letters of recommendation from local community professionals and peers in the industry.

“The AAF designation is recognized throughout our industry as a special honor for individuals who contribute to the floral trade and to their communities,” said SAF Awards Committee Chair Lori Wheat, AAF, of Lafayette Florist, Gift Shop & Garden Center in Lafayette, Colorado. “This group is acknowledged for their leadership and spirit of helping. Congratulations to the AAF Class of 2020.”

For more information about AAF or to apply for recognition, visit or contact [email protected].

Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.
Erica Hernandez
Emma Lookabaugh
Melissa Maguire
Cole Mangum
Oz Marshall
Meagan Nace
Tiffany Nohl
Chris Plane
Mike Prol

GPN June 2022 cover
Get one year of Greenhouse Product News in both print and digital editions for free.

Interested in reading the print edition of GPN?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.
website development by deyo designs