SNA Sidney Meadows Scholarship

Aug 4, 2022
Sidney B. Meadows Fund Awards $26,000 in Scholarships

The Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Fund, created in 1989 by the Southern Nursery Association (SNA), has announced the names of 13 students from seven southeastern universities chosen to receive academic scholarships this year.

Eight of the awards are named scholarships honoring past industry leaders or loved ones and includes the newest named fund, the Sally Smith Scholarship. This year’s awards were increased to $2,000 each, totaling $26,000. The fund has now awarded a total of $602,000 to students since it was established in 1989. Awards are being presented to the following excelling scholars:

  • Ramsey Arram, North Carolina State University
  • Forrest Brown, Virginia Tech, The Art & Millie Lancaster Scholarship
  • Samuel de Bordes, Louisiana State University, The Dr. James & Faye Foret Scholarship
  • Ashley Rene’ Edwards, Louisiana State University
  • Landon Erbrick, Auburn University, The Sally Smith Scholarship
  • Leandria Noelle Garrett, University of Georgia, The Robert L. Vanlandingham Scholarship
  • Julian Ginori, University of Florida, The Richard J. Hackney Scholarship
  • Johnathan Alexander Hampton, Auburn University, The Arthur A. “Buck” Jones Scholarship
  • Carolyn Grace Krauss, University of Tennessee, The Dr. Bryson L. James Scholarship
  • Thomas Maxwell McKeown, Louisiana State University, The Lee C. Howell Scholarship
  • Luke Owen, North Carolina State University
  • Kaitlin Swiantek, University of Georgia
  • Jacob Logan Winkles, University of Georgia

Scholarship recipients are determined through a competitive application process, administered by a selection committee, based on academics, determination, demonstrated interest in the horticulture industry, and financial need. This year’s recipients were chosen from a very competitive group of applicants. Of the thirteen students, 10 are graduate students and three are under-graduate.

“Congratulations to this exemplary group of students who have excelled academically and demonstrated determination and a passion for horticulture,” said Danny Summers, executive vice president of the fund.

“We continue to hear from recipients how important these awards are in reducing their financial stress allowing them the ability to concentrate more on their studies. I am confident each of these students will make an effective and positive contribution to our industry in the future. I look forward to seeing their accomplishments as they complete their studies,” he added.

The financial support offered by the fund has allowed many students the opportunity to work toward their educational goals. With this year’s awards, the fund has awarded a total of $602,000 since the fund was established in 1989. The fund’s current assets are now more than $970,000. Nine named funds have been pledged to date: The Larry D. Edwards Fund, the Dr. James & Faye Foret Fund, the Richard J. “Dick” Hackney Fund, the Lee C. Howell Fund, the Dr. Bryson L. James Fund, the Arthur A. “Buck” Jones Fund, the Art & Millie Lancaster Fund, the Sally Smith Fund and the Robert L. VanLandingham Fund.