Dec 30, 2019
SNA Announces 2020 Award Winners

The Southern Nursery Association (SNA) has announced the recipients of the 2020 SNA Awards.

The awards will be presented at the 121st Annual SNA Business Meeting,  Jan. 7, 2020, at the Baltimore Convention Center, Baltimore, Maryland, during The SNA Conference.

This year’s recipient of the Slater Wight Memorial Award is Dr. Allan Armitage, Emeritus Professor at the University of Georgia who holds academic degrees from McGill University and University of Guelph, Canada, as well as Michigan State University. This award, considered a lifetime achievement award, was named the Slater Wight Memorial Award in memory of the late J. Slater Wight, brother of the late John B. Wight, Sr. Nomination. Selection is made by the SNA Board of Directors.

This year’s recipient of the David E. Laird, Sr. Memorial Award is Autumn Schwab White, principal and owner of Dragonfly Landscape and Water Gardens, Tampa, Florida.  The David E. Laird, Sr. Memorial Award is presented each year to recognize qualified young men and women for outstanding service in the field of environmental horticulture and to offer inspiration for others starting out in the field.

This year’s recipient of the SNA Pinnacle Award is Brent Harper, Cherokee Manufacturing, Nashville, Georgia. The SNA Pinnacle Award is given to the individual within the allied industry who, in the opinion of the SNA Board, has contributed most to the advancement of the industry in the south and to the welfare of the Southern Nursery Association.

The recipient of the 2019 Porter Henegar Memorial Award is Dr. Robert Geneve, Professor, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky, where he teaches Woody Plant Material, Plant Propagation and Topics in Plant and Soil Science. The Porter Henegar Memorial Award for Horticultural Research was created to honor those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to ornamental horticultural research and, more specifically, to SNA.

The 2019 recipients of the Don Shadow Award of Excellence are Mark and Jolly Krautmann, co-owners of Heritage Seedlings & Liners, Salem, Oregon. The award is presented to an individual, corporation or organization that has provided exemplary service, leadership and generosity in the development, promotion and use of new and improved landscape plants.

This year’s recipient of the SNA Honorary Member Award is Jimmy Driver, Jimmy Driver Plant Brokerage & Consulting, McMinnville, Tennessee.

The SNA Awards Program is designed to recognize professionals for their distinguished talents, extraordinary service and life achievements, and who have demonstrated their commitment to the Southern Nursery Association and the industry through these annual awards.

For a list of previous SNA award winners, visit the SNA website at

Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.
Ben Vliestra
Sidney Phelps
Jennifer Moss
Daniel Norden
W. Garrett Owen
Jessica Montgomery
Elien Peters
Rose Oberholzer
Nikki Melin

November 2020 GPN
Get one year of Greenhouse Product News in both print and digital editions for free.

Interested in reading the print edition of GPN?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.
website development by deyo designs