Aug 22, 2019
AFE Awards Scholarships

The American Floral Endowment (AFE) has awarded 15 students with scholarships totaling $42,300. Seventy-four applications were received for this 2019 scholarship cycle.

“We had many outstanding students apply for scholarships this year, which is why some scholarships were awarded to two recipients,” said Greg Royer, AFE Education Committee Chair.

“I’m excited to see the high quality of students each year and the AFE Board is pleased that AFE is able to award financial assistance to these well-deserved students to help them continue their education and become passionate industry leaders.”

AFE awards scholarships annually and applications are due by May 1 of each year.

Scholarship descriptions are available at

The scholarship recipients are:

  • American Florists’ Exchange Scholarship — $2,400
    Vocational (Bettinger, Holden and Perry) Scholarship – $1,500
    Recipient: Armando DeLoera – City College of San Francisco
  • Julio and Sarah Armellini Scholarship — $2,200
    Recipient: Abigail Keairns – Murray State University
  • Ball Horticultural Company Scholarship — $1,100
    Edward Tuinier Memorial Scholarship — $4,600
    Recipient: Caleb Spall, Michigan State University
  • Harold Bettinger Scholarship — $2,000
    Recipient: Rhiannon Newton, West Virginia University
  • BioWorks IPM/Sustainable Practices Scholarship — $1,200
    Recipient: Sage Drohan, Orange Coast College
  • James Bridenbaugh Memorial Scholarship — $500
    Mike and Flo Novovesky Scholarship — $2,700
    Recipient: Alexis Ramstine, Colorado State University
  • CalFlowers Scholarship — $5,800
    Recipient: Helene Dondero, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
  • John Carew Memorial Scholarship — $2,000
    Recipient: Mary Lewis, University of Georgia
  • Earl Dedman Memorial Scholarship — $2,000
    National Greenhouse Manufacturers Association (NGMA) Scholarship — $500
    Recipient: Gergely Motolai, Kansas State University
  • Long Island Flower Growers Association (LIFGA) Scholarship — $1,400
    Long Island Flower Growers Association Bob Gunther Scholarship – $1,000
    Recipient: Cassandra Castano, Farmingdale State College
  • Richard T. Meister Scholarship — $4,000
    Recipient: Emily Teng, University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Lawrence “Bud” Ohlman Memorial Scholarship — $2,500
    Recipient: Krishna Bhattarai, University of Florida
  • Seed Companies Scholarship — $2,500
    Recipient: Erin Pfarr, Rutgers University
  • John L. Tomasovic Sr. Scholarship — $1,200
    Recipient: Keslie Robbins, Mississippi State University
  • Jacob and Rita Van Namen Marketing Scholarship — $1,200
    Recipient: Kelly Pohlman, University of Kentucky


Latest Photos see all »

GPN recognizes 40 industry professionals under the age of 40 who are helping to determine the future of the horticulture industry. These individuals are today’s movers and shakers who are already setting the pace for tomorrow.
Ben Vliestra
Sidney Phelps
Jennifer Moss
Daniel Norden
W. Garrett Owen
Jessica Montgomery
Elien Peters
Rose Oberholzer
Nikki Melin

July 2020 GPN
Get one year of Greenhouse Product News in both print and digital editions for free.

Interested in reading the print edition of GPN?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.
website development by deyo designs