Marta Lynch is a member of GPN's 2024 Class of Forty Under 40 honorees
40 Under 40, Class of 2024

Marta Lynch


Pennsylvania Horticultural Society

Job Title

Farm manager


What 3-4 professional and/or personal accomplishments are you most proud of?

  • Professional: Leading the creation of the PHS Green Resource Center at Norristown Farm Park, a teaching and production farm which grows and distributes over 20,000 pounds of free produce to address inequities in our communities’ social determinants of health.
  • Being able to mentor the amazing staff, interns and apprentices who have been vital to the success of the farm projects I’ve had the privilege to lead. 
  • Personal: Building a life, career and community that I love and am grateful for every day.
  • My athletic career. I was a high-level women’s soccer player — I trained with Sydney FC, a professional women’s soccer team in Australia, played semi-professional soccer in New Jersey, as well as played NCAA D1 women’s soccer at Purdue University.

What led you to work in the horticulture industry? 

  • After leaving the athletic world, I wanted to find something that I was as passionate about as soccer.
  • Horticulture fit the bill — it allowed me to be outside, continue to be physically active, work within a team and contribute to my community. It connects different cultures to each other, allows me to be closer to the natural world, is challenging and is a field where I will never stop learning.
  • I’ve found that plant people are my type of people!

What’s the best thing about your job? 

  • Company environment
  • Co-workers
  • I get to do what I love, every day.
  • It is challenging.
  • Problem solving

Describe to a 6-year-old what you do in life? 

  • I grow fruits and vegetables for people that don’t get to eat fruits and vegetables as much as they want to and need to.


What are your favorite hobbies? 

  • Ultimate frisbee
  • Backpacking
  • Swimming
  • Playing board games
  • Cooking
  • Reading
  • Speaking French
  • Cross country skiing

When you’re not working, what could we find you doing? 

  • Playing ultimate frisbee
  • Swimming in natural bodies of water
  • Playing board games with friends
  • Reading science fiction and/or Japanese literature
  • Watching Jeopardy

Fun Facts

Do you have any unusual talents, or can you tell us something interesting about yourself that other people may be surprised to find out? 

  • I lived on a small French island off the coast of Madagascar called La Réunion island.

One thing you can’t live without? 

  • My cat, Martha

What are you (un)secretly good at? 

  • Identifying and locating tree frogs by their call, and then catching them

What are your top three bucket list items? 

  • Go on a hut-to-hut cross country ski trip 
  • Become an Adirondack 46er 
  • Buy a fixer-upper house to renovate it exactly the way I want including creating an incredible perennials garden

What’s your favorite plant variety and why? 

  • Narcissus, because they are an ephemeral beacon of springtime.
  • They are sparkly, smell delicious and each week there is a new variety emerging for you to enjoy.

You’re buying a vacation package to anywhere in the world without a budget, where are you going?

  • One month in Corsica
  • Spend two weeks backpacking the GR20, which crosses the entire island, then two weeks relaxing on Corsican beaches and attending the Festa di u Ficu — the annual festival that celebrates the fig harvest.